Who We Are

Established in 1972, Student Community Government, Inc. (SCG) is run for the students and by the students. SCG contains Student Parliament, which acts as a central forum for students to bring forth and address issues and concerns affecting students at Rhode Island College (RIC).

All parliament meetings are held on Wednesdays in Student Union 307 beginning at 7:00 p.m. except where noted otherwise.

What We Have Accomplished 







Funded charging stations and water bottle filling stations in the Student Union & Donovan Dining Center (DDC)

Advocated for a greener & better RIC

Offer Free Legal Advice and Free Notary Services

Advocated for better food in DDC

Has brought GrooveBoston, Illumina Live, Macklemore, Gym Class Heroes and T-Pain to RIC in recent years.

Advocated for the shuttle to campus & better parking


President Taylor Vutech 2020-2021

Taylor is a Psychology major and a Management minor here at RIC.  She is good at communicating and is very extroverted. She has a lovely dog name Nova who she spends most of her time with. In addition to being active in SCG she is also a part of Anchor TV.

Treasurer Patrick Gibb 2020-2021

Patrick is our Treasurer. He is affectionately called P Money, and is a Sophomore here at Rhode Island College.

Vice President S. Munk Cain 2020-2021

Cain as he prefers to be called is a transfer student who came to us from Virginia and brings a cool southern sass to the SCG offices. He always comes in with a smile and has been integral to multiple SCG projects like our Town Halls.

Speaker David Blais 2020-2021

David is an active Sophomore at RIC. He is a part of multiple student organizations including WXIN and Kappa Sigma. He is a Communications major who uses his skills to run Student Parliament meetings.

Secretary Brynn Terry 2020-2021

Brynn is an active student on campus as she is a part of WXIN and RICovery along with Student Community Government. She loves her dogs and enjoys spending time with them when she's not on campus.

Deputy Speaker Thomas Duft 2020-2021

T.J. is a freshman and Youth Development major (concentrating in youth leadership through
advocacy) with a Political Science minor, as well as NCC for the Resident Student Association.

Administrative Assistant Mrs. Joan Barden

Administrative Supervisor Mrs. Dianna Carey

© 2023 by Name of Site. Proudly created with Wix.com