Who We Are?

Established in 1972, Student Community Government, Inc. (SCG) is run for the students and by the students. SCG contains Student Parliament, which acts as a central forum for students to bring forth and address issues and concerns affecting students at Rhode Island College (RIC).

FUNDING

GREENER AND BETTER

LEGAL/NOTARY

         upcoming events:

all events will be hosted in-person

08/31/2022
parliament meeting at 7:00 pm - SU307

09/07/2022
finance commission meeting at 12:30 pm - SU307

TBD
elections  


 

MEET THE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL
        FOR THE 2022-2023 YEAR

BETTER FOOD

MUSIC

SHUTTLES & PARKING

President
Matthew Thureson
2022-2023
president@ricscg.org

IMG_0219.heic

Matthew Thureson is the current President of Student Community Government. He is a senior at the college with a major in Public Relations and Musical Theatre. Thureson is heavily involved in the campus community as he is the President of the Resident Student Association.

Vice President
Asley Corrales
2022-2023
vicepresident@ricscg.org

ASLEY PHOTO.jpeg

Asley Corrales is the current Vice President of Student Community Government. She is a first-generation student who is studying Business Management and Marketing. Ms. Corrales sits on the Executive Boards of several on-campus student organizations.

Secretary
Christal Figuereo
2022-2023
secretary@ricscg.org

Christal Figuereo is the current Secretary of Student Community Government. She is a senior at the college with a major in Accounting and a minor in Marketing. While managing her academics, and other extra curricular's, Ms. Figuereo serves as an Executive Board Member for the American Marketing Association. Figuereo uses the skills she's gained in her academic career to assist in making decisions regarding the development of club/organizations. 

Treasurer
Fathia Obabiyi
2022-2023
treasurer@ricscg.org

Speaker
James Torres
2022
-2023
speaker@ricscg.org

Deputy Speaker:
Tom Fura
2022
-2023
deputyspeaker@ricscg.org

 

fathia_edited.jpg

Fathia Obabiyi is the current Treasurer. Ms. Obabiyi, is the main facilitator of all Finance Commission meetings, and handles all SCG funds, and money related questions and concerns. 

Administrative Assistant
Mrs. Joan Barden
jbarden@ric.edu

IMG_CAB9964CA491-1.jpeg

Administrative Supervisor
Ms. Dianna Costa
dcosta@ric.edu

IMG_BF476F8AE293-1.jpeg